About East Africa

East Africa is made up Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, and Djibouti (Horn of Africa), Tanzania, Kenya, Uganda, Rwanda, Burundi (the African Great Lakes region) and the island nations of Comoros, Mauritius, Seychelles, Réunion and Mayotte in the Indian Ocean.

Cite this page as: Smarthistory, "About East Africa," in Smarthistory, November 19, 2016, accessed April 18, 2024, https://smarthistory.org/east-africa/.